walkhighlands

Add reviews of outdoor gear and equipment here... or simply chat about gear and ask for recommendations

Couple of questions regarding boots

Couple of questions regarding boots

Postby Greg » Tue Jul 03, 2012 12:02 pm

I have ruined the cheap waterproof boots that I bought recently as a lot of water had got inside them one day and the waterproofing is now destroyed. Consequently I have decided to invest in some that are much better quality overall and have been looking at a pair of Brasher Hillwalkers. I am a size 11 in trainers etc but should I be going half a size up to account for thicker socks etc? I have found a pair of 11.5's on Uttings Outdoor for £79.99 which is a very good deal and would like to ask here before pulling the trigger.

Also, is Uttings okay to deal with? I am new to all of this so am unsure.

Cheers,

G
Greg
Mountaineer

Re: Couple of questions regarding boots

Postby Meatball » Tue Jul 03, 2012 12:11 pm

Go to a shop and try stuff on...
Buy the ones that feel comfortable and supportive.
I like scarpa but have recently tried Salomon.
Meatball

Munros:63   Corbetts:50
Fionas:8   Donalds:3
Sub 2000:4   

Postby Gythral » Tue Jul 03, 2012 2:01 pm

Go to lots of shops, late in the afternoon, and try every different pair you can find and walk around the shop, up and down steps and slopes. If the shop cant provide this go elsewhere!

Only after trying them buy a pair. Unless you are lucky (or are buying a direct replacement), boots vary too much in length, toe width and height, ankle shape etc. to just say I'll have size x in model y!
Gythral

Munros:19   Corbetts:8
Fionas:4   
Hewitts:141
Wainwrights:1   

Postby rockhopper » Tue Jul 03, 2012 10:21 pm