walkhighlands

This forum is for general discussion about walking and scrambling... If writing a report or sharing your experiences from a route, please use the other boards.

Snow In The Lakes?

Snow In The Lakes?

Postby Ibex » Sun Feb 24, 2013 9:39 pm

Does anyone know if there is there is snow on the hills, in the Lake district?

I'm tentatively thinking about making a trip up there in a few weeks. I'd love to get in the hills again, but don't fancy walking in the snow alone, as I have no experience of it. Well I say that. I've done Hellvelyn to near the top in snow and Great Gable all the way to the top but that was with someone else.

So is there snow on the hills in the Lakes at the moment?
Ibex
Mountain Walker

Munros:16   Corbetts:1
Hewitts:130
Wainwrights:214   

Re: Snow In The Lakes?

Postby tenohfive » Sun Feb 24, 2013 9:51 pm

Too late in the day to be of much use now, but if no-ones answered by morning this might be handy - the MWIS webcam list includes a few Wainwrights:
http://www.mwis.org.uk/webcams.php
tenohfive

Munros:2   
Hewitts:40
Wainwrights:44   

Postby stig_nest » Mon Feb 25, 2013 12:34 am

Always worth taking a peek at the met office mountain conditions page, last time I checked the exit ramps of Swirral and Striding edges were covered in compacted unavoidable snow/ice. so there's still some of the white stuff about..
http://www.metoffice.gov.uk/loutdoor/mountainsafety/lakedistrict/lakedistrict_latest_temp.html

There's plenty of other hills there at a lower altitude though if the high tops are snow covered and you dont fancy it. - try the North western fells perhaps..
stig_nest
Munro compleatist

Munros:26   Corbetts:9
Fionas:8   
Sub 2000:8   Hewitts:316

Postby denfinella » Mon Feb 25, 2013 1:14 am

At the moment there's certainly still fairly extensive cover on some shadier slopes (enough for the local ski club to run their lift). In addition, there's been a dusting of fresh over the last few days.