walkhighlands

To make the forum a bit more social... for new members (and old ones!) to introduce themselves to the site. You are welcome!

Hill walking

Hill walking

Postby MaryWilson » Mon Aug 26, 2013 8:55 am

Hello all, I am very new to hillwalking in fact started last year with my brother. We visit glen Coe every second Sunday and do hill walking. To start with mainly low level however yesterday we bagged our first Munro, up through the beautiful lost valley then once past the valley floor we climbed up over to the left. not sure of the name of the mountain but you know where I mean. I found this climb quite intimidating as I don't have a head for heights believe it or not however I did do it and the view was amazing. I did realise that I need to have stronger legs if we are going to continue to climb, my legs were very tried on the way back. We did have a cracking day for it
MaryWilson
Mountaineer

Munros:2   

Re: Hill walking

Postby GillC » Mon Aug 26, 2013 11:55 am

Hi Mary, Welcome to the hills. Glencoe is a fabulous place, might have been Sgreamhach you took on up the Lost Valley,,hope you enjoyed.. Hey,,evened hardened climbers have sore legs on the way down :clap:
GillC
Munro compleatist

Munros:64   Corbetts:50
Fionas:32   Donalds:30
Sub 2000:22   Hewitts:5
Wainwrights:1   Islands:22

Postby weebirdie » Mon Aug 26, 2013 9:41 pm

Hello Mary! I'm new too :D !

Sounds like you're having a wonderful time - your account of your walk made me want to put my boots on right now. And low level walks are STILL great walks, in my opinion - we can't have our heads in the clouds all the time! (It's also reassuring to 'meet' someone else with no head for heights - I burst into tears about 10m from the summit of Ben Lomond because I was daft enough to look down!).

xx
weebirdie
Mountaineer

Munros:1   
Fionas:1   Donalds:1
Sub 2000:4   Hewitts:9
Wainwrights:9   

Postby MaryWilson » Tue Aug 27, 2013 9:58 am