walkhighlands

Add reviews of outdoor gear and equipment here... or simply chat about gear and ask for recommendations

Best lightweight rucksack ever - Osprey Talon 33?

Best lightweight rucksack ever - Osprey Talon 33?

Postby AirbusA370 » Thu Nov 21, 2013 11:56 pm

Hi everyone - I am planning to buy my first real backpack gear ever.

So far I have always used my schoolbag in the mountains. Although it does the job, I bet I will get more from something technically adequate :)

I will mainly engage in a lot of hillwalking and scrambling, with occasional climbs (though I am a beginner). I also have some back pain which is why I will never go on long expeditions and prefer to do day hikes/trips.

What I know for sure is that I am prone to getting into dirt, rock and mud.

Why do I say this? Because although I am ready to invest up to £90-£100 in a backpack, I don't want to end up throwing away that money when the bag gets torn by rocks or when I fall into mud, or am exposed to a lot of rain, nature, or more...

In other words, I sometimes see supermarket rucksacks at ridiculously lower prices than at outdoor shops; I don't mind a £10 backpack getting dirty and torn once in a while if I use it every day. I can always buy a new one more easily.

More simply, I am quite nitpicky about value for money.

Considering that so far I have "survived" peaks, snow and lochs with my schoolbag (which to be honest feels even more rugged than the Osprey-silk), I sometimes wonder if those extra £80 really add that much value...

Don't get me wrong - I am not here to discredit any technical bagmaker or their users. I am simply saying that if I have to spend that much, I really want the best of the best (in terms of quality, features, etc)!

All advice appreciated!
AirbusA370
Stravaiging

Re: Best lightweight rucksack ever - Osprey Talon 33?

Postby weaselmaster » Fri Nov 22, 2013 2:25 pm

I've used this rucksac for the last 2 seasons