walkhighlands

This forum is for general discussion about walking and scrambling... If writing a report or sharing your experiences from a route, please use the other boards.

Do all the Munros have trig points at the summit?

Do all the Munros have trig points at the summit?

Postby Dan1001 » Sun Nov 02, 2014 11:28 am

I recently read a few things on the net where someone has said they had climbed a Munro only to find later that they had not actually been at the summit.

Im fairly new to hill walking but the hills I have walked up so far have all had trig points at the summit, I walked up Ben Wyvis yesterday and sure enough the trig point was there at the summit.

If there are trig points at the top of every Munro then surely there can be no confusion as to where the summit is, so this leads me to believe that not all Munros have trig points at the summit, am I right?

Thanks, Dan.
Dan1001
Munro compleatist

Munros:6   Corbetts:12
Fionas:3   
Sub 2000:14   

Re: Do all the Munros have trig points at the summit?

Postby IamAJMiller » Sun Nov 02, 2014 7:50 pm

SImple answer: no, not all Munros have Trig points on them, but pretty sure you'll find a cairn of stones at the top of each one (I'll tell you in 55 munros time! :wink: ). Trig points were used by the OS to calculate relative distances for mapmaking etc. Therefore you'll find them in places with good vantage points and you should theoretically be able to see at least two other trig points on neighbouring hills/other good vantage points. One interesting Trig is on the side of East Lomond, it's not at the summit, but about 50m South of it on the side. Presumably it's a better viewpoint than having one at the summit!
IamAJMiller
Munro compleatist

Munros:13   Corbetts:31
Fionas:2   Donalds:3
Sub 2000:18   Hewitts:51
Wainwrights:78   

Postby gaffr » Sun Nov 02, 2014 7:52 pm

No..... There are some where the Trig. point is not at what is considered to be the 'Munro'.