walkhighlands

This forum is for general discussion about walking and scrambling... If writing a report or sharing your experiences from a route, please use the other boards.

Kintyre Way, some questions of a newbie

Kintyre Way, some questions of a newbie

Postby walter1407 » Tue Feb 03, 2015 4:29 pm

Greetings! I plan to walk around Arran Island in June this year, After that, I would like to walk part of the Kintyre Way, heading North from Campbeltown to Tarbert (or to the ferry in Kennacraig). My questions:
1. If, as I plan, I do the walk in the "wrong" direction, will there also be signposts, or will I risk losing the way? I will have maps with me.
2. The suggested day walk from Campbeltown to Carradale is 34km long. Is there any accommodation available in between?
3. Can I hike to Kennacraig instead of to Tarbert?

(I am a newbie to hiking in Scotland but an oldie in person. I have hiked and climbed quite a bit, mostly in the Alps but also in other parts of the world. My longest trek was 1400 miles).
walter1407
Mountaineer

Re: Kintyre Way, some questions of a newbie

Postby nigheandonn » Tue Feb 03, 2015 5:15 pm

There aren't really any signposts, just marker posts every so often, so it doesn't make much difference which way you go - but if you're coming over from Lochranza to Claonaig you'll be nearer the north end to start with. There's a bus up to Tarbert from there, but you'll have to change at Kennacraig or Tarbert for a Campbeltown bus.

You could easily walk the road from Claonaig to Kennacraig - it's usually very quiet - but you could also get a bus from Claonaig or Tarbert . I wouldn't recommend walking the A83.

I can't see a breaking point for the long day unless you want to go down the spur to Bellochantuy - it hardly seems worth it, though (although it is a lovely bit of coast).
nigheandonn
Wanderer

Munros:19   Corbetts:9
Fionas:7   Donalds:26+10
Sub 2000:64   Hewitts:133
Wainwrights:214   Islands:34

Postby jmarkb » Tue Feb 03, 2015 5:37 pm