walkhighlands

This forum is for general discussion about walking and scrambling... If writing a report or sharing your experiences from a route, please use the other boards.

Corrour bothy?

Corrour bothy?

Postby Choccy » Thu Sep 24, 2020 1:30 pm

Hi all, my planned route on 7 November will see my overnight stop at the area of the Corrour bothy, so I have a couple of questions, as I'm a bothy virgin.

Is the bothy just a turn up and use, or first come first served etc. I'll be taking a tent, so will there be places near by to set up.

Also as I've never used a bothy before are there any tips on bothy etiquette. Do I need to bring anything in particular.

It's probably the thing I'm most looking forward to on my trek, as the hills are quite lonely after a few hours walking, and the thought of conversation with like minded people and alcohol becomes evermore tempting...

Leigh.
Choccy
Mountain Walker

Munros:6   

Re: Corrour bothy?

Postby prog99 » Thu Sep 24, 2020 1:33 pm

Hi, not to put a downer on your plans but all bothies are shut.
https://www.mountainbothies.org.uk/
But the answers to a lot of your questions will be above.
prog99
Munro compleatist

Fionas:130   

Postby rgf101 » Thu Sep 24, 2020 1:42 pm

There's space nearby to camp, though as said above, you should assume the bothy is closed.
rgf101

Postby Choccy » Thu Sep 24, 2020 2:09 pm

Thanks for the quick replies. The tent will be definitely getting used then. I'll have to wait to break my bothy cherry.

Are there any areas that are more sheltered within distance of the bothy. Not that my tent should need it, but every little helps.

Leigh.
Choccy
Mountain Walker

Postby Caberfeidh » Fri Sep 25, 2020 9:10 am