walkhighlands

This forum is for general discussion about walking and scrambling... If writing a report or sharing your experiences from a route, please use the other boards.

Outdoor Access right to roam

Outdoor Access right to roam

Postby Woodencat » Wed Jan 20, 2021 1:30 pm

Hello, I’m new to Scotland and am still trying to understand ‘right to roam’ laws. Can anyone help me understand if I can access privately owned estate grounds? Mount Stuart on the Isle of Bute is short walk from me, but I am still unsure if I am allowed to actually wonder legally within the woodlands. There are separate ornamental gardens by the main country house, but I just want to walk through the woods to access the coast. Normally when the estate is open (not during currently COVID restrictions) the land, gardens and house is open to the public with paid access only, during the winters it is all closed and many people have said they access the land for dog walking etc. But I want to know legally if I am allowed. Any help? Many thanks
Woodencat

Re: Outdoor Access right to roam

Postby Skyelines » Wed Jan 20, 2021 6:00 pm

Here's a link to all you might want to know about the access code https://www.outdooraccess-scotland.scot/

My understanding is that if access to an area has been by a charge then when closed access would normally not be allowed.

However it depends to some extent on what the property owner is charging for.

For example if the charge is for car-parking and access to specified parts of the area but access is possible on foot to the rest of the area without a charge it would seem reasonable to presume the uncharged areas are free to access at all times on foot.
The counter to this view would be that free access on foot is a concession only during times that the property is open to charged access.

So it is not as straightforward as one might hope.
Skyelines
Wanderer

Postby FraserHughes » Wed Jan 20, 2021 6:39 pm

Here is the full guidance.