walkhighlands

This forum is for general discussion about walking and scrambling... If writing a report or sharing your experiences from a route, please use the other boards.

possibility of two long walks near Kinlochewe

possibility of two long walks near Kinlochewe

Postby McYosi » Mon Jul 19, 2021 3:01 pm

Hiya, maybe someone can give me some advice overhere.
I am studying OS map 19 and see it should/might be possible to do two long walks near/to Kinlochewe. According to the map there are foothpaths all the way. Is this correct and are the two routes I mention do-able for a relative novice when it comes to hillwalking. Long walks are no issue for me, I used to run marathons, lol.

1) Start from Poolewe, via Letterewe and along the Loch Maree shores to Kinlochewe.

2) Start near the cemetary near Kinlochewe, to Heights of Kinlochewe, walk to the shore of Lochan Fada and move on via Gleann Bianasdail.

Looking forward to your highly appreciated tips!
McYosi
Walker

Munros:2   Corbetts:1

Re: possibility of two long walks near Kinlochewe

Postby rockhopper » Mon Jul 19, 2021 10:45 pm

1) Start from Poolewe, via Letterewe and along the Loch Maree shores to Kinlochewe.
Might be wrong but I don't think there's a path all the way from Ardlair to Letterewe - may need to go to Kernsary then to Letterewe via Strathan Buidhe
rockhopper

Munros:282   Corbetts:222
Fionas:136   Donalds:89+20
Sub 2000:16   Hewitts:2
Wainwrights:3   Islands:20

Postby Mal Grey » Mon Jul 19, 2021 11:13 pm

1. As Rockhopper says, there's no path between Letterewe and Ardlair along the loch. You could go over Strathan Buidhe, then to Kernsary.

2. I would do this the other way round, the walk through Heights of Kinlochewe is on easier large tracks, so might be better at the end of the day.