walkhighlands

This forum is for general discussion about walking and scrambling... If writing a report or sharing your experiences from a route, please use the other boards.

Erosion

Erosion

Postby alexmat » Tue Nov 09, 2021 9:18 pm

I have been walking the hills of Scotland for over 40 years and one thing I have noticed is the huge increase in erosion and damage to our environment .. Not only on our more popular hills but now on those which many choose to ignore. This was apparent to day whilst climbing Meall Chuaich close to Dalwhinnie. Whilst out walking i happened to stop and speak to an estate worker. who advised me to continue my walk up the stalkers path and ascend the Munro from a different route rather than the normal one. The estate has no problem with walkers (although he did say there has been a marked increase in property damage ,litter ,wildlife disturbance and anti social behavior in the last few months.) The erosion to the path which ascends the south west of the hill is appalling .What was once a single track is now a motorway. Badly damaged peat bogs and soil disturbance. So much so the estate are looking to fence of the area and reroute walkers further up the glen to encourage regeneration.. its something we all have to consider and we are all at fault.We have to be more considerate ,Plan alternative routes and think where we are walking rather than stick to the known routes and turn them into ugly scars.. The hills are fragile and our environment a finite resource .One that we damage at our peril. .
alexmat
Mountain Walker

Re: Erosion

Postby dave munn » Tue Nov 09, 2021 11:09 pm