walkhighlands

This forum is for general discussion about walking and scrambling... If writing a report or sharing your experiences from a route, please use the other boards.

Trip to Cairngorms in February

Trip to Cairngorms in February

Postby MrMunro » Sun Jan 16, 2022 7:31 pm

Hi! I’m new to this forum so I hope I am posting on the correct discussion page. I’m planning to go walking/wild camping in the Cairngorms next month to bag some more Munro’s, I have been to the Cairngorms a few month ago already and I have plenty of experience walking in the summer but I really want to try walking in the winter as I’m obsessed with the idea of becoming a mountaineer one day. However I understand that walking in Scotland in the winter can be dangerous especially if you go alone, which I will be and I am only 19 years old so naturally I don’t have much experience walking in the winter. I have all the correct winter gear, ice axe/crampons etc but I wanted to use this forum to ask if anyone with more experience had any good tips for a newbie like me! I have watched some videos on how to use crampons and kicking steps etc and I am very confident when it comes to navigation. If anyone has some advice it would be great to hear it, especially if anyone thinks my plan to go walking in the winter alone sounds too dangerous!
MrMunro
Walker

Re: Trip to Cairngorms in February

Postby WalkWithWallace » Mon Jan 17, 2022 10:50 am

If you haven't got anyone more experienced to help you, then getting yourself on a winter skills course would be a shrewd move.

Mountaineering Scotland run courses and offer plenty advice:

Advice:
https://www.mountaineering.scot/safety-and-skills/thinkwinter/winter-skills

Courses:
https://www.mountaineering.scot/safety-and-skills/courses-and-events/our-courses/winter-skills

Mountain guides based in the Cairngorms can run bespoke day courses too. 8)
WalkWithWallace
Munro compleatist

Munros:119   Corbetts:192
Fionas:57   Donalds:36+0
Hewitts:41