walkhighlands

This forum is for general discussion about walking and scrambling... If writing a report or sharing your experiences from a route, please use the other boards.

Cuillin advice?

Cuillin advice?

Postby joreidy » Fri Jul 29, 2022 11:03 pm

Im looking at tackling some of the Cuilin munros over the next while and wondering if anyone has advice for how many of them can be done together in a single outing without the use of ropes? I would be looking at hiring a guide for the Inn Pinn at some stage but apart from that, are the other munros all doable without ropes? I have some scrambling experience completing the Aonach Eagach traverse, the Saddle and Horns of Alligin for some context. Any advice would be much appreciated!
joreidy
Mountain Walker

Munros:281   Corbetts:44
Sub 2000:2   
Islands:8

Re: Cuillin advice?

Postby jmarkb » Sat Jul 30, 2022 12:23 pm

All the others are regularly done without ropes (at least by the easiest routes, though these don't always make the most convenient link-ups). In some cases the difficulty, route-finding, exposure and continuity of the scrambling is a step up from the routes you have listed.

Some possible combinations are:
Bruach na Frithe + Am Basteir + Sgurr nan Gillean
Banachdich + Ghreadaidh + Mhadaidh
In Pinn + Sgurr Mhic Choinnich
Eag + Dubh Mor + Alasdair

I would recommend getting hold of this book as a great way to do your research - https://www.cordee.co.uk/The-Cuillin-Andamp%3B-Other-Skye-Mountains-det-15-96-289-16185.html
jmarkb
Mountaineer

Munros:246   Corbetts:105
Fionas:91   Donalds:32
Sub 2000:46   

Postby prog99 » Sat Jul 30, 2022 5:07 pm

Good advice from mark and an excellent book recommendation.
I’d add that a lot of the cuillin is about route finding and sound decision making. If it looks or feels wrong it almost certainly will be, it’s useful to stop and think when at key decision points.