walkhighlands

This forum is for general discussion about walking and scrambling... If writing a report or sharing your experiences from a route, please use the other boards.

Ben Nevis via the CMD

Ben Nevis via the CMD

Postby Malckyb » Thu Mar 01, 2012 11:27 pm

We have planned to climb the Ben via the CMD in mid May. I have done 6 Munro's,Scafel Pike and lots of smaller hills so am not a complete novice.

A few questions for those that have done the Ben via CMD.

Have been working on my fitness and plan to do a few big hills before the climb.How difficult is it..how long should it take?

Have no real problem with exposure...is there much exposure and scrambling?

Any other tips or hints?
Malckyb
Munro compleatist

Munros:87   Corbetts:6
Fionas:6   Donalds:8
Sub 2000:11   Hewitts:12
Wainwrights:19   

Re: Ben Nevis via the CMD

Postby KeithS » Thu Mar 01, 2012 11:41 pm

The Ben via the CMD arete is so much better than the tourist route, probably the best way up unless you are a climber. The exposure is not bad, I have done it twice, once in quite wet conditions and there were no real problems. It is a full day out though, enjoy
KeithS
Munro compleatist

Munros:282   Corbetts:5
Fionas:2   
Sub 2000:3   Hewitts:14
Wainwrights:9   Islands:47

Postby NickyRannoch » Thu Mar 01, 2012 11:51 pm

Fantastic day out but if i was to go back it would be starting at the north face park at torlundy. the tourist track to lochan meall an t -suidhe is like walking through town on a saturday afternoon and the climb from.cic hut to carn mor dearg is a real leg and lung burner with all the good views at your back.
NickyRannoch
Mountain Walker

Munros:224   Corbetts:3
Fionas:4   Donalds:1
Sub 2000:9   
Islands:17

Postby Malckyb » Thu Mar 01, 2012 11:58 pm

Thanks for the replies so far folks. I have heard that the pull up to Carn Mor Dearg is the worst part of the walk and that its pretty relentless?
Malckyb
Munro compleatist

Munros:87   Corbetts:6
Fionas:6   Donalds:8