walkhighlands

This forum is for general discussion about walking and scrambling... If writing a report or sharing your experiences from a route, please use the other boards.

one man or 2 man tent

one man or 2 man tent

Postby tawoh » Mon Dec 12, 2016 11:15 pm

Hi all. on planning our wee expedition next year to fisherfields and maybe cairngorms has any one got a suggestion for a cheap ish one or 2 man light weight tent ,I used an old army bivvy and tarp a few times but fancy tent now as my old body craves some comfort .looking at under 2kg and under 150 quid also should I stick with 1 man tent or 2 man for extra room but heavier some suggestions ,cheers.
tawoh
Mountain Walker

Munros:238   Corbetts:23
Donalds:4

Re: one man or 2 man tent

Postby rockhopper » Mon Dec 12, 2016 11:45 pm

Hi. You'll probably get various different answers and there have been a few other threads on this subject which you may find useful. I've been using a Vango Banshee 200 for the last 5 or 6 years - my version weighs about 2kg. Two man tent which would be tight for two but means I can get all my kit inside. The porch is a decent size. I tend to carry it with the inner already attached to the outer then pitch in a oner - a lot faster that way. Otherwise erect the outer first then the attach the inner. I'd tend not to go for an inner pitch first tent as could be an issue if pitching in the rain. I carry the tent in a compression sack, the poles separately up the corner of the rucksack and the pins separately inside the rucksack. I've used it in various types of weather and for a number of summit camps - touch wood, it has stood up to strong winds, rain and some snow - cheers :)

PS did we meet on Cnoc Coinnich recently ? I think I recognise your name but not sure ?
rockhopper

Munros:282   Corbetts:222
Fionas:136   Donalds:89+20
Sub 2000:16   Hewitts:2
Wainwrights:3   Islands:20

Postby 4shotB » Tue Dec 13, 2016 1:12 am