walkhighlands

This forum is for general discussion about walking and scrambling... If writing a report or sharing your experiences from a route, please use the other boards.

Map reading course?

Map reading course?

Postby sbarclay62 » Fri May 25, 2018 2:51 pm

Hi guys

Any recommendations for map reading course for a complete beginner? Tried Mountaineering Scotland but they're fully booked. Within a 2hr drive from Edinburgh if poss but happy to travel further. (Did try searching but wasn't bringing much back).

Thanks
sbarclay62
Mountaineer

Munros:6   
Fionas:1   
Sub 2000:5   

Re: Map reading course?

Postby Border Reiver » Fri May 25, 2018 4:07 pm

In the past I went on a couple of courses run by the Lake District National Park . Very good and very cheap in comparison with many companies. Ok, so it was 20 odd years ago, but it cost only £5 for the day.
Just checked and they run a "Navigation Skills for Beginners" course at Ullswater on 16th June this year - cost £15. Check their website for other courses.
Border Reiver
Wanderer

Munros:202   Corbetts:7
Fionas:3   Donalds:1
Sub 2000:2   Hewitts:62
Wainwrights:69   Islands:33

Postby davekeiller » Fri May 25, 2018 4:53 pm

Glenmore Lodge? Pricy but generally good, and you'll be in the heart of the Cairngorms.
davekeiller

Munros:154   Corbetts:31
Fionas:4   Donalds:3
Sub 2000:11   Hewitts:19
Wainwrights:20   

Postby gld73 » Fri May 25, 2018 6:46 pm

Mapology does a 1 day navigation course for £50, or even a basic intro evening course lasting a couple of hours - it's based in Edinburgh. I don't have first hand experience, but it does do Duke of Edinburgh award training so has had to undergo the Approval process for that.

https://mapology.co.uk/navigation-courses
gld73

Munros:178   Corbetts:76
Fionas:69   Donalds:12
Sub 2000:94   Hewitts:60
Wainwrights:107   Islands:13

Postby Caberfeidh » Sat May 26, 2018 8:58 am