walkhighlands

This forum is for general discussion about walking and scrambling... If writing a report or sharing your experiences from a route, please use the other boards.

Advice on a Lairig Grhu and Ben Macdui route

Advice on a Lairig Grhu and Ben Macdui route

Postby vl250 » Tue Jun 05, 2018 12:32 pm

Hi all! It's my first time posting, although I've lurked on walk highlands for about 18 months.

My OH and I want to plan a two/three day walk, and we're looking at the Lairig Ghru and/or Ben Macdui (that sort of area). We're pored over the maps and the Walkhighlands routes trying to find something that works, and advice would be appreciated on planning a route.

It's worth noting that we are considerably slower than most walkers. 18 months ago I was in a wheelchair after an accident, and last summer as part of my physio I started doing long walks and hill walks with my sticks, and then bagging a few Munros towards the end of the summer. I manage fairly well, but especially over the very steep ground I have to take my time or the times when my nerves go funny end up with my tumbling.

We liked the idea of doing the Lairig Ghru from Speyside to Deeside as a two day walk, which would let us take a leisurely pace for me. However, we've never climbed Macdui and I really fancy bagging it when we go past. From the maps, it looks awkward to climb Macdui from the pass, and my leg doesn't really cope with much scrambling - is it going to add too much time to go up Srion Rach? And is there somewhere to leave our camping gear and collect on the route back from the mountain?

Any advice much appreciated.
vl250
Bird-watcher

Munros:5   
Sub 2000:3   
Islands:8

Re: Advice on a Lairig Grhu and Ben Macdui route

Postby Scottk » Tue Jun 05, 2018 9:24 pm

Last year I did a route from Linn of Dee through Glen Geldie and Glen Feshie to Rothiemurchus and back through the Lairig Ghru. Really lovely walk and just about 50 miles.