walkhighlands

This forum is for general discussion about walking and scrambling... If writing a report or sharing your experiences from a route, please use the other boards.

Livestock, Your Tips and Advice Pls

Livestock, Your Tips and Advice Pls

Postby boony » Tue Sep 04, 2018 11:51 pm

Hi all

tl;dr cows - wtf!

I'm relatively new to hillwalking, and recently had a bit of a scare when some cows (maybe a group of young bulls) came jogging towards me. It was a legit waymarked walking path, and I was about halfway into the field when I noticed they were a little less docile than other cows I've walked past, they started to walk towards me, then the fekkers started jogging right at me, they didn't seem aggressive, maybe just overly exited / interested, I went into a fight or fright mode, and realising at the speed the cattle was going I wouldn't make it to either gate so I jjumped the fence, and, you guessed it, electric fence! (Otherwise I might have been posting here casually asking what its like to touch one of them there electric fences :lol: Now I know, first hand :shock: ) (That emoji is called *shock* btw :lol: How the heck are those fences even legal anyways? and while were on the subject - Barbed Frickin Wire! wtf? seriously, wtf is that about?

So, to the point of the thread, I've read some 'dealing with livestock' tips on blogs and stuff, and it all seems pretty logical, but I'm wondering if any of you have any tips, or even some stories of scary moments you've had with livestock, and mainly, what would you yourself do if around a dozen cows came jogging directly towards you?
boony
Bird-watcher

Re: Livestock, Your Tips and Advice Pls

Postby Gordie12 » Wed Sep 05, 2018 4:32 am

It's only when you are close to a cow moving at speed that you appreciate how big and powerful they are. The vast majority are fairly calm and either disinterested in you or the younger ones can be mildly curious (in an unthreatening way).