walkhighlands

This forum is for general discussion about walking and scrambling... If writing a report or sharing your experiences from a route, please use the other boards.

Newbee - looking for suggestions

Newbee - looking for suggestions

Postby Annabel » Thu Jan 03, 2019 1:32 pm

Hi all,

I'm Annabel from Amsterdam and love walking and hiking. But as I'm visiting Scotland (staying in Crieff) I guess I'll have to prepare a little better then just with my usual Wikiloc.

Got only two days (1,5 really) and as the possibilities seem unlimited, I thought I'd ask for help.

From Crieff: What are the best walks to take, around 3 to 4 hours and considering I'm new to the game. Am fit but also unexperienced. Should I go west towards Killin, Ben Vorlich? Or North to Pitlochry? Will be in Scotland around Feb. 20th.

Many thanks!
Annabel
Annabel
Mountaineer

Re: Newbee - looking for suggestions

Postby simcc » Thu Jan 03, 2019 2:38 pm

All of the above is the answer...

From Crieff Ben Vorlich and Stuc a'Chroin make a great day and are not too far.
Just past Killin you have the Ben Lawers area with plenty of options. Besides the obvious ones there, I would also recommend the Tarmachan ridge with Meall nan Tarmachan, which I often take groups up and enjoy.

From Crianlarich, there are many more options.

Maybe best to look on the munro/corbett maps here and review some different hills and routes and see which one takes your fancy. There isnt really a bad choice, so I would stew too much on picking the right one.

greeting from a Scotsman in The Netherlands (near Delft) ;)
simcc
Munro compleatist

Munros:118   Corbetts:2

Postby Annabel » Thu Jan 03, 2019 4:17 pm

Thank you! I'm just trying to figure out two things: How do I know the amount of time any of the suggested routes take? :wink:
The other is: Will I need any gear?
Thanks again and enjoy the nice day in Delft (I am in The Hague as I type this!)