walkhighlands

This forum is for general discussion about walking and scrambling... If writing a report or sharing your experiences from a route, please use the other boards.

School hillwalking club

School hillwalking club

Postby Msp1987 » Wed Aug 21, 2019 7:03 pm

Hello!

I am looking for advice. I am a school teacher and I was thinking of starting a hillwalking club for pupils, maybe a few munros a year. I don't hold any mountaineering qualifications. Do I need qualifications? I am reasonably experienced, experienced enough to lead a walk up Ben Lomand etc.

Has anyone done this before, or does anyone know the rules?

Thanks
Msp1987
Rambler

Munros:205   Corbetts:7
Fionas:1   Donalds:1
Islands:11

Re: School hillwalking club

Postby prog99 » Wed Aug 21, 2019 7:18 pm

Your school may request it, could affect insurance otherwise amongst other things. Would you be leading the walks?

The school parties I've bumped into in recent years have all been led by members of staff with a summer ML award. And yes back in the day when I was at school no-one bothered.
prog99
Munro compleatist

Fionas:130   

Postby MrsOrr » Wed Aug 21, 2019 7:32 pm

I did a lot of walking in countryside when at school, I won't call it hill walking, no munros in north east England. We also had weekends away as part of courses; geography, geology and art as well as for Duke of Edinburgh awards. This was some time ago though, I left school 1976 :crazy:
I would imagine insurance would be required, possibly Duke of Edinburgh award people would advise?
MrsOrr
Bird-watcher

Postby fhaggis » Wed Aug 21, 2019 7:36 pm

Yes you def do! It will depend on your school/council but you need a minimum of mountain leader to take anyone over a certain height and terrain etc so Munro’s def our. To do bronze silver duke of Edinburgh expeditions the minimum qualification is low land leader (sure that’s the name).

You’ll be surprised how low you can only climb without your Mountain leader!
fhaggis
Mountaineer