walkhighlands

This forum is for general discussion about walking and scrambling... If writing a report or sharing your experiences from a route, please use the other boards.

Lochnager Help - Complete novice!

Lochnager Help - Complete novice!

Postby shavy65 » Sun Aug 25, 2019 3:58 am

Hi guys, looking for a bit of advice here.

First up I`d like to quickly give you a bit of background. Myself and my 64 year old Dad have only recently discovered the mystique of hill walking, we`ve only ever done Ben Nevis, which was at end of May this year. We`d really like to do more and like the look of Lochnager, and in particular the White Mounth Munros walk. The question is....are we capable!?

We summit-ted Ben Nevis and returned to our car park (completely soaked to the skin) in 6 hours 15 mins. The weather was unfavorable, constant rain, medium winds and very poor visibility....and my Dad needed regular pit stops. He felt as if that was as hard a walk as he was capable of.

Would any of you more experienced guys say the White Mounth Munro walk (5 munros I believe) is a lot harder than Ben?
By the looks of the guides on here it looks as if we could head up Lochnager and proceed onto Carn a' Choire Bhoidheach. At this point, I was thinking, we could assess how my partner was feeling and decide whether to soldier on to Carn an t-Sagairt Mor OR head back and potentially take the alternative route back to the car park via Loch Muir, does this seem feasible?

My other question was, if we made it to Carn an t-Sagairt Mor would the easier route back to the car park be 1) back the way we came OR 2) via the further 2 Munros (Cairn Bannoch & Broad Cairn) and on past Loch Muir?

Thanks in advance for any replies, much appreciated! :D

Davey
shavy65
Munro compleatist

Munros:7   

Re: Lochnager Help - Complete novice!

Postby CraigReid » Sun Aug 25, 2019 8:49 pm