walkhighlands

This forum is for general discussion about walking and scrambling... If writing a report or sharing your experiences from a route, please use the other boards.

‘New walkers’ on the hills.

‘New walkers’ on the hills.

Postby paulG2 » Sun Jul 12, 2020 6:24 pm

Hi everyone
I was in Arrochar the other day and it was busier than I have ever scene it. I have been walking for 10 years. Anyway, I was wondering if people agree that it’s busier than usual and why thoughts on why might be the cause ? Essentially has Coronavirus made hillwalking appealing to a whole new generation?

Paul
paulG2
Munro compleatist

Munros:172   Corbetts:25
Fionas:1   Donalds:9

Re: ‘New walkers’ on the hills.

Postby jmarkb » Sun Jul 12, 2020 6:33 pm

Perhaps. Or maybe the lack of other options for things to do on the weekend means that occasional walkers are doing more.
jmarkb
Mountaineer

Munros:246   Corbetts:105
Fionas:91   Donalds:32
Sub 2000:46   

Postby iain_atkinson_1986 » Sun Jul 12, 2020 6:35 pm

Was thinking about this yesterday and today as I was driving around the southern Highlands. I'm not so sure it is just 'new walkers'. I reckon a fair number of folk who only get out once or twice a month (probably most walkers) will be making up for lost time. That being said I've been on Corbetts this weekend and seen nobody, but the munro car parks have been outrageous so there might be more folk than usual in Adidas Sambas carrying Morrisons bags on the munros.

I don't think we should be discouraging new walkers but I do have concerns about estates losing the plot and become less walker friendly as a result of dozens and dozens of cars making single track roads even more of a nightmare than they are already.
iain_atkinson_1986
Munro compleatist

Munros:83   Corbetts:216
Fionas:20   Donalds:16+9
Sub 2000:4   

Postby paulG2 » Sun Jul 12, 2020 6:50 pm

iain_atkinson_1986 wrote:.