walkhighlands

This forum is for general discussion about walking and scrambling... If writing a report or sharing your experiences from a route, please use the other boards.

Training suggestions

Training suggestions

Postby Brian94 » Sun Jul 12, 2020 6:57 pm

Hello all,

I am new to hill walking and bagging, and had done 2 Munros in the past 2 years for charity. I am looking to get out more and enjoy more what our beautiful country has to offer, and have been out starting small for the past 2 Sundays, taking on Dumyat and Tinto. Both were pretty straightforward, but it did indicate to me just how unfit I have gotten!

I am looking for anyone who has any experience in the training side of things... What kind of things would you recommend to build fitness for taking on more Munros? What kind of things would you recommend for recovery? What things do you lot eat while out on the hills and what do you eat when you get back?

My next target is next week, taking on Ben Lomond (again) and plan on continuing on from there.

Thanks!

Bri
Brian94
Hill Bagger

Munros:5   
Fionas:1   Donalds:1
Sub 2000:1   
Wainwrights:4   
Walk wish-list

Re: Training suggestions

Postby Marty_JG » Sun Jul 12, 2020 7:16 pm

Brian94 wrote:What kind of things would you recommend to build fitness for taking on more Munros? What kind of things would you recommend for recovery? What things do you lot eat while out on the hills and what do you eat when you get back?

The best way to get hill-fit is to walk hills, so try the hills of lesser height: Corbetts, Grahams, Hughs. The closest thing most gyms will have is a stair machine. Otherwise your daily sweat-inducing cardio of choice will help your general cardiovascular fitness.

Recovery... rest. A nice bath if you have one. If your legs really ache some Tiger Balm (Deep Heat, etc) can be good.