walkhighlands

To make the forum a bit more social... for new members (and old ones!) to introduce themselves to the site. You are welcome!

New Here

New Here

Postby ScubaCollie » Mon Jul 19, 2021 9:04 pm

Hi All, new member here, and also new to hill walking.

I'm 50 next year and have always loved the country and the wild forces of nature, from the howling winds to the sharp cold rain on my face, and have always fancied wild camping.

I moved to Scotland last year, and have realised I've got a playground on my doorstep, I'm not getting any younger, and would be a fool not to explore and live my dream of wild camping in the outdoors.

I've ordered myself a 2 man tent and camping gear, and just waiting for delivery.

Once it's all received, I will have a go at setting it all up in my garden and becoming familiar with it, before venturing out in the hills with it.

I stumbled accross this forum looking for hills to walk, and thought I would join.

Im a newbie and there is so much I don't know, but hopefully will pick up along the way.

I've walked up Ben Nevis about 12 years ago, went up Scarfell Pike in January in the snow, without a map (but did have decent clothing on) but unfortunately I ended up on the summit next to it, and then had to cross over to Scafell Pike, and I met a guy from Wasdale Mountain Rescue on the top, who couldn't believe I crossed over at that point and lived to tell the tale..... 🙄🙏

I've also been up Skiddaw about 18 years ago.

So my outdoor walking is very basic but I would like to learn and be safe in the hills.

I have some questions and would be grateful if somebody could help me out with these.

1. Do you have to purchase OS Maps for every hill you want to walk or is there a map book that includes them all?