walkhighlands

To make the forum a bit more social... for new members (and old ones!) to introduce themselves to the site. You are welcome!

Advice for a new hiker

Advice for a new hiker

Postby Caroline47 » Mon May 23, 2022 11:59 am

Hi I am new to hiking and to here and myself and my husband recently completed Ben Lomond as being one of the "easier" ones. I am keen to get going on the next one and still wanting to keep it to the easier ones and build this up as I don't want to fall out with my new found passion and feel a graded approach is safer!!!. I also have a fear of heights which isn't great!!. I have been reading loads on here and other sites and I just can't decide. I am in between Ben Vorlich (Loch Earn) and Ben Chonzie. Any advice would be appreciated!!
Caroline47
Walker

Munros:17   Corbetts:1

Re: Advice for a new hiker

Postby MRG1 » Mon May 23, 2022 6:31 pm

Welcome to the bonkers world of hiking.
I've done that particular Ben Vorlich and planned for doing Ben Chonzie from Loch Turret but not walked it yet.
I don't think there's going to be much between them in terms of difficulty but one thing that I fell foul of when I started hillwalkiing was that term "easier."
I got into the belief that the lowest munros were going to be the easiest.
It may seem a bit backward but actually some of the easiest munros are actually much higher than your next targets.
The reason for this is that the starting point is that much higher.
The Ben Lawyers range and the Glenshee munros for instance
MRG1
Rambler

Munros:17   Corbetts:12
Fionas:8   Donalds:8
Sub 2000:24   

Postby MRG1 » Mon May 23, 2022 6:45 pm

Sorry, that was a bit dismissive of your targets.
It's kind of six of one / half a dozen of the other.
Ben Vorlich from Loch Earn is shorter but more ascent.
Ben Chonzie is longer but less ascent on both of the established routes
I too share a bit of a "respect for heights" and "exposed routes."