walkhighlands

To make the forum a bit more social... for new members (and old ones!) to introduce themselves to the site. You are welcome!

Late Starter

Late Starter

Postby Cams » Sat Jul 21, 2018 9:15 pm

Hi folks, I'm 46 and live on the Isle of Arran. I've been up Goatfell many times, but never any of the island's other corbetts.

Back in 1989 I was in the British Army and fell off a cliff whilst scrambling on Grasmoor in the Lakes. I fell 40 feet and suffered multiple fractures of my tibia and fibula, shoulder and a few teeth. That led to 13 surgeries and counting and my ultimate discharge from HM Forces.

Understandably I think, that event put paid to any desires I might have had to get into the hills for fun. Until now. It's strange, but the desire has stemmed from watching YouTube videos of millennials documenting the outdoors, most notably fellow Scot Dan Bell. If you haven't seen his videos, take a look!

I'm a very keen photographer and it's through that that I've found a desire to get out into Arran and see the parts of it I've not seen before. In many respects it seems like a ridiculous waste to have all that right there on my doorstep and not go and take a look.

So, I've been researching gear for the past couple of weeks and bought a tent and sleeping mat and plan to go out for overnighters with my daughter (14). This site has been great for looking up gear reviews and also for walks on Arran. I did the Caisteal Abhail walk today, though not all of it because we want to build up to it.

Nice to meet you all!
Cams
Scrambler

Corbetts:4

Re: Late Starter

Postby jmarkb » Sun Jul 22, 2018 8:42 am

Welcome to WH!

That's great to hear that you have re-discovered a love for the hills after such an awful accident, and it sounds like you will be able to give your daughter a great introduction to the outdoors. I wish you both well in your adventures!
jmarkb
Mountaineer

Munros:246   Corbetts:105
Fionas:91   Donalds:32
Sub 2000:46