walkhighlands

This board helps you to share your walking route experiences in England and Wales... or overseas.
Warning Please note that hillwalking when there is snow lying requires an ice-axe, crampons and the knowledge, experience and skill to use them correctly. Summer routes may not be viable or appropriate in winter. See winter information on our skills and safety pages for more information.

In the shadow of Cadair Idris

In the shadow of Cadair Idris

Postby thepigguy » Sun Jul 25, 2021 5:20 pm

Date walked: 07/07/2021

Time taken: 4.5

Distance: 8.18 km

Ascent: 395m

2 people think this report is great.
Register or Login
free to be able to rate and comment on reports (as well as access 1:25000 mapping).

our_route.gpx Open full screen  NB: Walkhighlands is not responsible for the accuracy of gpx files in users posts

We were spending a couple of days as a 60th birthday treat, ambling down memory lane in a part of Wales I have been visiting for more than 50 years.

Mrs Pigguy, who loves a walk, but whose dodgy knee has a limit of five or six miles, originally suggested I climb Cadair Idris and she'd come and pick me up later. I did the decent thing and said we should find a walk we could do together. We did - and it was grand fun.

aber1.jpg
Abergynolwyn

Castell y Bere is one of my favourite spots in Wales - or anywhere for that matter - so I was keen to include that. We parked in Abergynolwyn village and set off up the road that runs above the Afon Dysynni. I'd found a route on the Talyllyn Railway website and was glad I'd checked it otherwise we'd have missed the stile and footpath that leads over to Castell y Bere, avoiding a march around the road.

aber2.jpg
Heading away from the road

aber3.jpg
The path is straightforward to follow

aber4.jpg
Mrs Pigguy sets the pace

It's a fine amble through semi-agricultural land, the path coming and going, but it's easy enough to find your way with plenty of views to enjoy in all directions.

aber5.jpg