walkhighlands

Add reviews of outdoor gear and equipment here... or simply chat about gear and ask for recommendations

3 season sleeping bag/quilt?

3 season sleeping bag/quilt?

Postby BrightEyes16 » Wed Mar 16, 2022 5:17 am

Hi

I'm quite new to backpacking, having mostly only been on summer trips for a few days with a more experienced friend. My first solo trip went pretty well but my cheap sleeping bag takes up half my bag space and weighs 2kg :crazy: . I want to replace this and also expand the range I can camp in to something like April ish to September ish in Scotland.

I've researched a lot but haven't bought anything yet as I worry a bunch that I'll be too hot or too cold with the bags I find. I've looked at quilts too as they appear to have better ventilation options. I think I'll like a quilt but I'm not sure.

I want something much more packable and lightweight. I've looked at a few from Cumulus, such as their 250/350/450 quilts, Panyam 450, Lite Line, etc. The Alpkit Pipedream 200/400. Some from Aliexpress. These are names I see pop up a lot. I'm pretty sold on hydrophobic down and waterproof shell for Scottish damp.

My main worry with having one choice for all 3 season occasions (e.g Panyam 450/Pipedream 400) is that it's gonna be too warm for summer sometimes. But my worry with getting separate bags/quilts for summer and shoulder seasons is what if I'm caught out with unexpectedly high or low night temperatures and I don't have the right one. Also can't afford two really good bags/quilts. I wanna have the best chance of being comfortable in all situations during this period, without sacrificing too much on weight. As a beginner, I rate that security and flexibility.

I'm looking to hear about people's experiences and set ups during these months. And what you'd recommend for my situation. I know it's somewhat subjective, but I need to buy something so advice appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Some extra details: