walkhighlands

Add reviews of outdoor gear and equipment here... or simply chat about gear and ask for recommendations

One for the ladies..

One for the ladies..

Postby EwaMH » Wed Jul 08, 2015 8:59 pm

I'm looking for any suggestions the ladies on this site might have for good, supportive, sports bras that actually wick properly whilst hiking!

Anyone?
EwaMH

Munros:193   Corbetts:61
Grahams:17   Donalds:2
Sub 2000:11   

Re: One for the ladies..

Postby basscadet » Wed Jul 08, 2015 10:43 pm

Hmm, It will be different for different girls. I used to work in the lingerie business, so have seen the wide variety of shapes and textures there are out there :shock:
For me, I use a sports bra for zumba, but I wouldnt dream of wearing one on the hill.. Sports bras are made for times you need a lot of support, which you dont really need when you are just walking, and the firm material, while it wicks, has too many layers to dry out properly, which is a problem.. Plus they are just so restrictive - like wearing a mini straightjacket :lol: I go with a bra of the thinnest, most man made fibre I can. This is my current favourite :) http://www.debenhams.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/prod_10701_10001_150010138107_-1
basscadet
Munro compleatist

Munros:84   Corbetts:52
Grahams:18   Donalds:8
Sub 2000:34   Hewitts:13
Wainwrights:17   Islands:21

Postby Silverhill » Wed Jul 08, 2015 11:31 pm

Hi Ewa,
I have had crop top style sportbras in the past and whereas they were very comfortable, I found their compression properties were not helping with wicking sweat away. I now go for sport bras which resemble normal bras in the sense that they separate (and compress a bit) but with a racer back to avoid the straps creeping off your shoulders. As basscadet says, go for man-made fibres. I find mesh paneling in the sweaty areas also helps. My current ones have underwiring for support. But all in all it is very personal. Good luck! :D
Silverhill

Munros:282   Corbetts:9
Grahams:5   Donalds:19