walkhighlands

Add reviews of outdoor gear and equipment here... or simply chat about gear and ask for recommendations

Single Skin Tents

Single Skin Tents

Postby willsdad » Tue Jan 03, 2017 12:26 pm

Happy New Year Folks!!

Single Skin Tents......just how bad is the condensation problem?

I've got big plans for the coming 2 or 3 years so I'm considering spending some serious money on a top quality 1kg 2 man tent. After a bit of research I'm finding myself swayed towards single skinned using hiking poles for supports. My favourite at the moment is the Big Agnes Super Scout UL2 (love the extra porch space).

I have ZERO experience with single skin so I'm after some input. Most reviews I find are from overseas and different climate. They all seem to say condensation is an issue.

Surely this would be different here? Also, if it's only my body heat in a 2 man tent, shouldn't this reduce condensation?

If anyone one has any experience with this style of tent, or even better with the Big Agnes, can you share please?

Thanks.
willsdad
Backpacker

Munros:13   Corbetts:1
Fionas:3   
Sub 2000:1   Hewitts:6

Re: Single Skin Tents

Postby StevenF » Tue Jan 03, 2017 3:57 pm

Hey,

I got myself an MLD trailstar. There is more place, it's more flexible and it can handle the wind very good. You need a groundsheet and it when walking in the summer I also carry a compatible inner tent (for bug protection).

Very happy with it, so easy, a lot of space. Perfect for Brittish weather.

S
StevenF
Munro compleatist

Munros:1   Corbetts:1
Sub 2000:1   Hewitts:74
Wainwrights:77   

Postby willsdad » Tue Jan 03, 2017 9:32 pm

Steven,

Just looked at the MLD site. I definitely like the look of the Trailstar. What does the weight come to with the inner included?
I've experienced being fed to the midges before. ....never again! I need netting :?
Also, what are the prices here after shipping etc?

Is it really as roomy as all the reviews say?
willsdad
Backpacker