walkhighlands

Add reviews of outdoor gear and equipment here... or simply chat about gear and ask for recommendations

Camera for the hills

Camera for the hills

Postby Aktoman » Wed Jun 14, 2017 7:56 pm

Hello I am new to this so not sure if this is the right place for this advice. I am doing the munros and my old camera is just not up to the job anymore so I want to buy a new one. Does anyone have any recommendations? My current camrra is just 2MB max so that shows how old it is. I try to do wildlife shots but they always seem too far away or blurry so I guess I am looking for something with zoom and fast AF. I do alot of wild camping so I would like to experiment with night pictures too. But I dont want one of those big muckle things, just a lightweight thing thats practical for the hills, not to big or heavy. If anyone can point me in the right direction that would be much appreciated. Thanks
Aktoman
Mountain Walker

Munros:106   

Re: Camera for the hills

Postby dabshood » Mon Jun 19, 2017 10:24 am

If you need a compact waterproof camera for general use in the hills I would take a look at the new Olympus TG5 which is just about to be released. Sorry I can't actually recommend it as I'm still waiting for delivery myself. According to the pre-release reviews it's among the best of the waterproof types.
dabshood
Munro compleatist

Munros:42   Corbetts:14
Fionas:6   Donalds:6
Sub 2000:22   Hewitts:5
Wainwrights:4   

Postby Robinho08 » Mon Jun 19, 2017 2:05 pm

I've got a Panasonic TZ70, newer models are out now but it comes with a decent zoom for wildlife and handy for night shots.
Robinho08
Walker

Munros:54   Corbetts:70
Fionas:9   Donalds:11
Sub 2000:12   Hewitts:1

Postby Mal Grey » Mon Jun 19, 2017 5:06 pm