walkhighlands

Add reviews of outdoor gear and equipment here... or simply chat about gear and ask for recommendations

Waterproofs

Waterproofs

Postby Caberfeidh » Mon Mar 02, 2009 12:41 pm

Remember when Goretex came out and was hailed as a new wonder material which would keep the wearer dry no matter how wet the weather? I've had a few Goretex jackets now and they each lasted a while then became as waterproof as a cotton shirt. Anyone out there have a Goretex jacket which kept its waterproofing, or re-proofed it successfully? I'm beginning to think the ancient mariner-style oilskins and sou'wester would be an improvement.
When I was an impoverished student I used to wear a lot of army-surplus stuff because it was cheap and durable.My winter apparel was a Canadian RAF great coat.Not so good as the coat tails tended to catch in my crampons. The army surplus helmet topped off the weird look. Back in the sixties hippy climbers used to wear old fur coats from charity shops. Anyone else out there wear anything unusual in the hills, perhaps a Roman Centurian's helmet and thigh-length fisherman's waders?
Caberfeidh
Stravaiging

Re: Waterproofs

Postby Paul Webster » Mon Mar 02, 2009 12:44 pm

I'm beginning to think your profile pic is really of you :lol:
You can still buy ventile jackets, you know :)
Paul Webster
Site Admin
Mountain Walker

Munros:282   Corbetts:222
Fionas:71   Donalds:45+17
Sub 2000:121   Hewitts:133
Wainwrights:135   Islands:92
Walk wish-list

Postby Caberfeidh » Mon Mar 02, 2009 2:59 pm

Ventile?Is that the sort of tailed coat one would wear with a top hat?
Caberfeidh
Stravaiging

Postby Paul Webster » Mon Mar 02, 2009 3:06 pm

:lol: It's a very closely-woven double-layed cotton fabric where the weave is actually almost waterproof. It was worn by early climbers and also the Antarctic Explorers (incidentally it is still very extensively used in the antarctic). Much more breathable than gore-tex and nice and soft.