walkhighlands

Add reviews of outdoor gear and equipment here... or simply chat about gear and ask for recommendations

Bivy verus tent in the Highlands

Bivy verus tent in the Highlands

Postby Will N To » Tue Feb 27, 2018 9:28 pm

Hi, I'm a yank from California where the only annoying insects are killer bees-and they're just not interested. I'm headed your way in a couple months and wonder: Bivy or Tent?
I'm guessing these are the issues: Wind (& temperature),midges, rain.
Should I expect wanting some 'indoor' space out of the wind and midges, over mostly using using a tent or bivy as a place to sleep? Or do trekkers spend enough time inside a tent to make a bivy a false savings? Which do you prefer?

Much appreciated,

Will
ps I've already got the hat mesh.
Will N To
Scrambler

Re: Bivy verus tent in the Highlands

Postby Ben Nachie » Tue Feb 27, 2018 9:59 pm

For me it's tent every time, and I've been walking and camping in Scotland for over 30 years.

Bivvies have a couple of potential advantages. You can plonk yourself down pretty much anywhere in a bivvy whereas a tent requires a reasonable bit of ground for a pitch. Bivvies are theoretically lighter, however there are quite a few tents now that are lighter than some hooped bivvies.

Personally though, I'd say the advantages of a decent tent far outweigh the advantages of a bivvy. YMMV.
Ben Nachie
Munro compleatist

Postby Robinho08 » Wed Feb 28, 2018 10:28 am

I've gone for one of your American made MLD Trailstar tarps. Need a bug net in the summer months for the dreaded midge.
Robinho08
Walker

Munros:54   Corbetts:70
Fionas:9   Donalds:11
Sub 2000:12   Hewitts:1

Postby crfishwick » Wed Feb 28, 2018 1:36 pm

Will N To wrote:Hi, I'm a yank from California where the only annoying insects are killer bees-and they're just not interested. I'm headed your way in a couple months and wonder: Bivy or Tent?
I'm guessing these are the issues: Wind (& temperature),midges, rain.