walkhighlands

Add reviews of outdoor gear and equipment here... or simply chat about gear and ask for recommendations

iPad Mini

iPad Mini

Postby MartinWardPhoto » Sun Mar 18, 2018 10:12 pm

I’m fairly new to hillwalking after catching the bug, learning to navigate by compass again some 25 years after being in Scouts so have so have found myself using ViewRanger to double check.

I use an iPhone 7 Plus and chews the battery, my old android S5 seems to fair better but I’m due a tablet upgrade and wondered if anyone has tried to use a iPad mini with ViewRanger?

Would it be useful with bigger battery for back up using follow mode? Or is it really just a track and occasional check position type app and pointless to upgrade to the mini?????
MartinWardPhoto

Munros:3   Corbetts:2
Sub 2000:4   

Re: iPad Mini

Postby davekeiller » Mon Mar 26, 2018 6:44 pm

I've never tried using an ipad on the hill.
What are you planning to use it for? I generally only want a grid reference to confirm my location, in which case what you've already got works fine, and an ipad just complicates things. I'd also be worried about how robust and waterproof ipads are (or aren't), and the fact it's a lot of money wasted if you drop, break or lose it.
davekeiller

Munros:154   Corbetts:31
Fionas:4   Donalds:3
Sub 2000:11   Hewitts:19
Wainwrights:20   

Postby BobMcBob » Mon Mar 26, 2018 10:40 pm

Generally Apple gear battery life with GPS is terrible. Android fares much better, but then you have to use Android :) I use my iPhone for an occasional GPS fix but I'd never rely on it for navigation. I've had my phone battery fail in cold weather, had the touchscreen fail due to water, you name it, been unable to read the screen in bright sunlight, very unreliable. Taking an iPad just seems like unecessary extra weight that will gain you nothing.
BobMcBob
Rambler

Munros:73   Corbetts:18
Fionas:9   
Sub 2000:1   Hewitts:33
Wainwrights:12   

Postby Robinho08 » Tue Mar 27, 2018 9:51 am