walkhighlands

Add reviews of outdoor gear and equipment here... or simply chat about gear and ask for recommendations

salomon boots

salomon boots

Postby Runci21 » Thu Jun 14, 2018 6:47 am

I am having trouble with my new salomon x ultra mid 3 gtx boots and I am a complete novice to walking boots, got my first pair about 3 weeks ago tried them on in the shop and seemed to fit fine and after a couple of short walks I started getting sore toes like my feet where slipping forward on downhill sections.
luckily for me my brother is also looking to get into hill walking and is a shoe size smaller than me bought them of me so I went back to our local go outdoors shop bought the same model again in a larger size, now when I walk downhill sections my toes don't hit the front now but seem to be a little narrow and squeezing my toes together.
i have never had any issues with wide feet with any other footware, are salomon boots made narrow ??

any suggestions on boots with a wider toe box, looking to try craigdon mountain sports in Edinburgh after work today
Runci21
Mountaineer

Munros:82   Corbetts:4
Donalds:7
Sub 2000:10   
Islands:6

Re: salomon boots

Postby KatTai » Thu Jun 14, 2018 9:24 am

If you go into Craigdon they will measure your feet properly for you and make sure you get the right fit. They also should have a slope board for you to go up/down on to get a better idea of how they feel. The guy in the Perth store was a great help when I went in to choose a pair of walking boots.
KatTai
Wanderer

Munros:52   Corbetts:16
Fionas:12   Donalds:2
Sub 2000:53   
Islands:32

Postby stinker » Thu Jun 14, 2018 9:25 am

Not a very well known brand in the UK as yet but it might be worth having a look at the Oboz Sawtooth Mid B-Dry Boots. If you would prefer a shoe rather than a boot they also make the Oboz Sawtooth Low B-Dry Shoe. Both Mid and Low versions are also available in a non waterproof version.