walkhighlands

Add reviews of outdoor gear and equipment here... or simply chat about gear and ask for recommendations

Ankle rash from boots - please help!

Ankle rash from boots - please help!

Postby R 90 » Mon Jul 29, 2019 9:37 pm

Hi all! Please forgive me if this question has already been asked a million times but I'm relatively new to walking. I've bagged a fair few munros but I am now walking around 20 miles a go in preparation for the West Highland Way which I am not used to. I got a bad rash (complete with a couple of small blisters) around my ankles and think it may be sweat rash but would love some advice.
I was wearing a liner and a sock and had my boots tied rather tight in 20 degree heat so I think I may have just strangled them! I have googled vasculitis but don't think it looks like that - the rash looks more like a patch rather than lots of red spots and the skin is sensitive to touch. Any help would be much appreciated - I am getting a little worried about the West Highland Way now :(

I did try to attach images however the post would not accept it.

Thanks!
R 90
Mountaineer

Re: Ankle rash from boots - please help!

Postby Marty_JG » Wed Jul 31, 2019 8:31 pm

Sounds like a sweat rub; bear in mind my medical practice never had a complaint (then again none of my patients lived to tell the tale). More seriously:

let others guide you with sock/boot combos
    I recommend Sudocrem for healing; dab generously and let the area have as much oxygen as possible
    put patches of Zinc Oxide tape, Leukotape P, BSN Strappal, etc. on prone-to-hotspot areas, or hotspots before they start to blister, make sure you don't cut circulation off

Zinc Oxide tape is, for many hikers, essential kit on the US "trails" where they hike thousands of miles.
Marty_JG
Backpacker

Munros:10   Corbetts:2
Fionas:2   
Sub 2000:3   
Islands:3

Postby R 90 » Wed Jul 31, 2019 8:56 pm

Thanks so much @Marty_JG :)
R 90
Mountaineer

Postby Sgurr » Thu Aug 01, 2019 11:13 am