walkhighlands

Add reviews of outdoor gear and equipment here... or simply chat about gear and ask for recommendations

Full outfit recommendations

Full outfit recommendations

Postby Griffin79 » Sun Aug 25, 2019 8:41 am

Hi all

I'm fairly new to walking/hiking as a hobby. I've been mainly doing day walks in places like the trossachs ranging from 6 to 12 miles depending on what time I have. These don't involve high hills, munros etc so I don't need any 'climbing' type gear. Basically I'm looking for recommendations for a good all round outfit that I can adapt depending on the weather by adding or removing layers. I splashed out on a really good pair of walking boots which I'm happy with but need recommendations for trousers, under garments, over garments, jacket etc. Even what socks to wear. At the moment I am basically just walking in cargo pants, t shirt and fleece with a cheap waterproof cagoule and over trousers for rain. I'd like to purchase a few key items now so I have some proper gear. Thanks
Griffin79
Mountaineer

Re: Full outfit recommendations

Postby davekeiller » Sun Aug 25, 2019 7:14 pm

Some of these things are hard to recommend as clothes need to fit you as an individual.

Having said that:
Bridgedale or Smartwool socks
Montane terra trousers
Baselayer tops you can take your pick. Synthetic is cheaper but will pong a bit after use. Merino is expensive and takes a bit longer to dry, but won't pick up odours. Bamboo is also good.
keep your current fleece for now
Waterproof jacket - there's a huge array on the market. You don't need anything too flashy, have a look at what's in the sale for between about £100 and £200. Plenty of "what jacket?" threads on this forum. Get one that fits you comfortably and has pockets that you like.
Underwear - see the "best male underwear" thread. I prefer the modal blend from M&S, although there are others available. I find that bamboo based fibres are more wicking than cotton but don't cost too much.
davekeiller