walkhighlands

Share your personal walking route experiences in Scotland, and comment on other peoples' reports.
Warning Please note that hillwalking when there is snow lying requires an ice-axe, crampons and the knowledge, experience and skill to use them correctly. Summer routes may not be viable or appropriate in winter. See winter information on our skills and safety pages for more information.

Ben Vane - espresso Munro!

Ben Vane - espresso Munro!

Postby Walkies999 » Mon Nov 23, 2020 10:39 pm

Munros included on this walk: Ben Vane

Date walked: 23/11/2020

Time taken: 4 hours

Register or Login
free to be able to rate and comment on reports (as well as access 1:25000 mapping).

As a newbie I have been looking for 'easier' Munros and decided foolishly to rank them by height. Ben Vane is the smallest by this measure so I thought it would be easier than my only other conquests (Ben Lomond and Ben Chonzie). I now know this was a mistake. :shock:

My first attempt was on Monday and the omens were against me. I managed to get lost twice in the first 3 miles, misunderstanding the 'gated tarmac road' and walking round a field looking for a bridge over the railway (which is 200m further along the A82) and then looking at the wrong photo and turning left at Corriegrogan, two embarrassingly simple mistakes. I'm hoping this is a rite of passage :o