walkhighlands

Share your personal walking route experiences in Scotland, and comment on other peoples' reports.
Warning Please note that hillwalking when there is snow lying requires an ice-axe, crampons and the knowledge, experience and skill to use them correctly. Summer routes may not be viable or appropriate in winter. See winter information on our skills and safety pages for more information.

Lights out for Darker Skies......in Assynt

Lights out for Darker Skies......in Assynt

Postby Avocetboy » Mon May 28, 2012 8:42 pm

Route description: Sgùrr an Fhìdhleir - the Fiddler

Fionas included on this walk: Sgùrr an Fhidhleir

Date walked: 18/05/2012

Time taken: 4 hours

Distance: 8 km

Ascent: 750m

3 people think this report is great.
Register or Login
free to be able to rate and comment on reports (as well as access 1:25000 mapping).

I have been holidaying at a cottage in Culnacraig for the past 3 years, directly beneath Garbh Choireachen as it plunges into the sea and have always said that one day I must traverse the ridge from Ben Mor Coigach.
However, the previous two years, the weather, family activities etc. etc. had all thwarted my attempts, but this year, as we turned right on the B road heading towards Achiltibui, the view of the Coigach range, bathed in late afternoon sun, was just begging me to climb it.
So a plan was hatched, to fit in with family activities, I would get up one morning at sunrise and climb the Sgurr an Fhidhlier and Ben More Coigach .Not only would this achieve my ambition of conquering these hills, it would also be the first time I had ever been up in the mountains on my own. I should also add, that I struggle with heights and particularly in exposed situations, but I was still not sure whether this was a fear for myself, or that of others who are with me. Ie Wife, Children, Dog etc. So, hopefully, I would be able to conquer all of this on one trip.