walkhighlands

Share your personal walking route experiences in Scotland, and comment on other peoples' reports.
Warning Please note that hillwalking when there is snow lying requires an ice-axe, crampons and the knowledge, experience and skill to use them correctly. Summer routes may not be viable or appropriate in winter. See winter information on our skills and safety pages for more information.

Pap of Glencoe first hillwalk

Pap of Glencoe first hillwalk

Postby pedhlund » Wed Oct 16, 2013 10:50 pm

Route description: The Pap of Glencoe

Fionas included on this walk: Pap of Glencoe

Date walked: 11/10/2013

Time taken: 8 hours

Distance: 4.25 km

Ascent: 742m

2 people think this report is great.
Register or Login
free to be able to rate and comment on reports (as well as access 1:25000 mapping).

I am a complete novice at hill-walking yet on a previous visit to Glencoe I found the hills there irresistible, so on a second visit I gave hill-walkng a try. Being concerned about my skill level and safety and ability to properly identify the trail I engaged Steven Fallon Mountain Guides to keep me out of trouble. I am very glad I did. Most of the trail up the Pap of Glencoe is fairly easy to identify and follow, but being a novice I was not exactly sure what the trail should look like. This is where having Steven Fallon as a guide was extremely helpful. Where the trail becomes somewhat difficult to clearly identify in the saddle between the summit of the Pap and the adjacent summit to the Southeast at about 589 meters elevation he pointed us in the right direction. While the hill here is reasonably clear and easy going and several different routes to the summit could be taken, it is not apparent from this point that the easiest way to approach the summit is from the North or Northeasterly direction. Here again our guide kept us out of trouble pointing us toward the easiest route around the back side of the summit from where we approached it. The last 100 meters is q