walkhighlands

Share your personal walking route experiences in Scotland, and comment on other peoples' reports.
Warning Please note that hillwalking when there is snow lying requires an ice-axe, crampons and the knowledge, experience and skill to use them correctly. Summer routes may not be viable or appropriate in winter. See winter information on our skills and safety pages for more information.

Ben Lomond - another newbie report

Ben Lomond - another newbie report

Postby nigheandonn » Thu Aug 28, 2014 11:34 pm

Munros included on this walk: Ben Lomond

Date walked: 09/08/2014

1 person thinks this report is great.
Register or Login
free to be able to rate and comment on reports (as well as access 1:25000 mapping).

I know what everyone will be thinking - not another first timer on Ben Lomond. So I will attempt to keep it brief, except that I'm not very good at that.

This was the second of my carefully guarded walking days, after the first went slightly wrong - this time it worked out, and a ridiculously early start saw me on the first train to Glasgow - in some trepidation, as the only previous time I'd taken it it had been full of people who hadn't made it home the night before. I was pleasantly surprised by the people waiting at Haymarket, but apparently it was just that all the stopouts had waited at Waverley, so the journey to Glasgow was enlivened by endless drunken argument.

Tarbet seemed not just an hour but a whole world away from Glasgow, and full of that highland smell.

It had been quite a misty morning so far, but the forecast was fairly good - although the cloud was still doing its best to cling to the hills when I arrived.

DSCF8005.JPG
Lingering clouds

DSCF8006.JPG
The Arrochar road