walkhighlands

Share your personal walking route experiences in Scotland, and comment on other peoples' reports.
Warning Please note that hillwalking when there is snow lying requires an ice-axe, crampons and the knowledge, experience and skill to use them correctly. Summer routes may not be viable or appropriate in winter. See winter information on our skills and safety pages for more information.

chilly day on beinn narnain and ben ime

chilly day on beinn narnain and ben ime

Postby jac the lassie » Tue Nov 25, 2014 1:12 am

Munros included on this walk: Beinn Ìme, Beinn Narnain

Date walked: 24/11/2014

Time taken: 6.32 hours

Register or Login
free to be able to rate and comment on reports (as well as access 1:25000 mapping).

This is my first year doing the munros (though I've been a keen walker for years) and my aim was to do about 15 this year. Last Saturday I managed ben vorlich and Ben vane, to bring my total to 20! So riding on a wave of enthusiasm I set out to get two more. My next targets where the other two at arrochar. Easy peasy! Right...... :wink:

Forecast had been improving all week, now was 80 % chance of clear tops. I've never been on the hills with more than a 60% chance! Bingo!! hehehe :D

Left edinburgh at 5.40am. Dumped my brother gavin at Tarbet, he's a cyclist and wanted to cycle from here to Edinburgh.
I thought I saw some whiteness on the top of ben lomond, though it's still quite dark, snow? "nae, just clouds" say gav. So began our top gear style race. First back to Edinburgh!

I got to the car park for the start just before 8.00, aware that day light hours are drawing in quickly and things can go wrong, so better to have loads of spare time to play with. Only a couple of cars here, but no one around.
Set off and quickly found the path to the right, after the wooden fox, though it looked suspiciously like a stream to me. :roll:
685_646872999.jpg
Path/ stream