walkhighlands

Share your personal walking route experiences in Scotland, and comment on other peoples' reports.
Warning Please note that hillwalking when there is snow lying requires an ice-axe, crampons and the knowledge, experience and skill to use them correctly. Summer routes may not be viable or appropriate in winter. See winter information on our skills and safety pages for more information.

Just a Little Walk in the Snow - Bien Liath Mhor

Just a Little Walk in the Snow - Bien Liath Mhor

Postby Roger T » Tue Nov 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Route description: Beinn Liath Mhor, Achnashellach

Date walked: 24/11/2015

Time taken: 5 hours

Distance: 10 km

Ascent: 800m

2 people think this report is great.
Register or Login
free to be able to rate and comment on reports (as well as access 1:25000 mapping).

The snow had come and I wanted to walk in it, as high as possible. The trouble was, I had never done it before. I have no winter mountain experience, apart from years of skiing, which hardly counts, and with less than ten Munros under my belt, not a huge amount of summer experience either.
But I knew I had to keep up the momentum built up over the previous three months. It had taken a good while to get up to fitness. If I spent the winter hunkered over a log fire, I’d have to start all over again when the good weather returned. I was booked on a winter skills course for January, but a bit of familiarisation, not to mention the exercise, wouldn’t go amiss. And that white topping on the hills looked so seductive, so irresistible. I had to get up there.