walkhighlands

Share your personal walking route experiences in Scotland, and comment on other peoples' reports.
Warning Please note that hillwalking when there is snow lying requires an ice-axe, crampons and the knowledge, experience and skill to use them correctly. Summer routes may not be viable or appropriate in winter. See winter information on our skills and safety pages for more information.

Canoe across Loch Quoich

Canoe across Loch Quoich

Postby campervan » Mon Oct 10, 2016 9:40 am

Munros included on this walk: Sgùrr Mòr (Loch Quoich)

Corbetts included on this walk: Sgùrr an Fhuarain

Date walked: 09/10/2016

Time taken: 7 hours

Distance: 10 km

Ascent: 900m

Register or Login
free to be able to rate and comment on reports (as well as access 1:25000 mapping).

I had been eyeing this trip for many years. The adventure of a boat across the loch seemed the ideal way across to this remote hill. Conditions were right- a scandinavian high pressure system that was static and has provided stable weather, but particularly little wind, for several days. It all looked right.
There were some waves on Loch Ness as I approached from the north, but blue sky and the sunshine on the autumn leaves were heavenly.
When I arrived at Quoich side about 11 am there were loads of cars and vans already. The conditions and forecast can't be much better and loads of folk had worked it out.
The off load and walk down to the water were ok, a track, slightly washed out towards the bottom. Loaded up and hugged the shore. There was a wind of about 5mph from the east, so there were waves of about 4-6 inches running. My boat isn't great in waves, so was wanting to turn side on to them. Running down with the wind was fine, and across to the other shore. The water level was really low, so my route is closer to the shore than it looks on the map.