walkhighlands

Share your personal walking route experiences in Scotland, and comment on other peoples' reports.
Warning Please note that hillwalking when there is snow lying requires an ice-axe, crampons and the knowledge, experience and skill to use them correctly. Summer routes may not be viable or appropriate in winter. See winter information on our skills and safety pages for more information.

First Munros - but not the last

First Munros - but not the last

Postby Briqual » Thu Apr 27, 2017 9:47 pm

Route description: Mayar and Driesh, Glen Clova

Munros included on this walk: Driesh, Mayar

Date walked: 22/04/2017

Time taken: 5 hours

Distance: 14.5 km

Ascent: 835m

3 people think this report is great.
Register or Login
free to be able to rate and comment on reports (as well as access 1:25000 mapping).

Right, my first ever report.

I'm new to this walking thing at 54 years old although not exactly a beginner. A few years ago I was on a visit to Glen Doll. It was a nice enough day and I decided Dreish 'looked doable', I didn't follow any paths or the like and just went straight up, no problem, but the idea that you can just come 'straight down' was a learning experience. That and the fact it was a pea souper at the summit made for not the best of experiences.

I swore that one day I'd do Mayar and Dreish, by the proper recommended route, and this was my initiation to proper hill walking.

Me and the boys (my two Vizslas) set off from home and arrived at the Ranger Station around 9. We met a friend there, also a fairly newbie, we got ready and off we went toward Corrie Fee, a walk I've done plenty times before only to marvel at the place, never having actually gone past the top of the approach path. This time though off I went into the corrie itself.

1.jpg