walkhighlands

Share your personal walking route experiences in Scotland, and comment on other peoples' reports.
Warning Please note that hillwalking when there is snow lying requires an ice-axe, crampons and the knowledge, experience and skill to use them correctly. Summer routes may not be viable or appropriate in winter. See winter information on our skills and safety pages for more information.

The Cobbler in full winter garb.

The Cobbler in full winter garb.

Postby Betta868 » Mon Jan 08, 2018 12:55 am

Corbetts included on this walk: The Cobbler

Date walked: 06/01/2018

Time taken: 6 hours

Distance: 6 km

Ascent: 750m

4 people think this report is great.
Register or Login
free to be able to rate and comment on reports (as well as access 1:25000 mapping).

BA19.jpg

So this is my first time submitting a walk report so hope it is interesting enough!

Well my partner has just started getting into walking in the mountains and was especially keen to try out her new shiny ice axe and crampons so I thought we best head up to the Loch Lomond NP as it's our closest area with some decent mountains (we're based just south of Glasgow).

So it came to Friday evening with me deciding where we should walk on the Saturday. My main criteria was to try and get into some decent winter conditions but attempt an achievable summit that would allow for time spent learning how to walk in crampons, practising ice axe arrests, performing wind slab tests, navigating off the topography etc.

Because of this and the fact that it was also a new mountain for me I plumped for Ben Arthur as I saw from looking on the good old OS online that you could complete a very short and sweet route coming round the NW slope and up a natural (wide) drainage line at a fairly steep but not technical gradient.