walkhighlands

Share your personal walking route experiences in Scotland, and comment on other peoples' reports.
Warning Please note that hillwalking when there is snow lying requires an ice-axe, crampons and the knowledge, experience and skill to use them correctly. Summer routes may not be viable or appropriate in winter. See winter information on our skills and safety pages for more information.

Bruach na Frithe

Bruach na Frithe

Postby davekermito » Tue Jan 09, 2018 10:44 pm

Munros included on this walk: Bruach na Frìthe

Date walked: 03/06/2017

2 people think this report is great.
Register or Login
free to be able to rate and comment on reports (as well as access 1:25000 mapping).

I won't lie, when it comes to Munros I'm not an expert. Save a trip across the Five Sisters of Kintail a few years ago I'm pretty much in virgin territories in the world of Scottish mountains.

But as I was staying near Kyle with the family, I had to research a simple enough walk that would get me on to the main Cuillin Ridge without drama and would get me back to the wife and kids by mid afternoon. Unsurprisingly almost 100% of the suggestions pointed towards the walk up to Bruach na Frithe from Sligachan.

On a day that started cloudy and slightly damp, I could not have asked for a better day (overcast but with a cloud base at 3000 foot on climb, brilliant blue sky appearing when I got to the summit). The Skye mountain gods were smiling!

I won't bore you with the route too much as it is pretty much the obvious tourist path! Following the streams, waterfalls and little pools up I would describe the majority of the ascent as pleasant or even enchanting, but not necessarily exciting! Nice views to the North to the Old Man of Storr but fairly average otherwise. That was until I got to the ridge.