walkhighlands

Share your personal walking route experiences in Scotland, and comment on other peoples' reports.
Warning Please note that hillwalking when there is snow lying requires an ice-axe, crampons and the knowledge, experience and skill to use them correctly. Summer routes may not be viable or appropriate in winter. See winter information on our skills and safety pages for more information.

Sgurr Mhic Bharraich - The best birthday gift

Sgurr Mhic Bharraich - The best birthday gift

Postby BlackPanther » Wed Nov 10, 2010 2:29 pm

Route description: Sgùrr Mhic Bharraich

Corbetts included on this walk: Sgùrr Mhic Bharraich

Date walked: 10/11/2010

Time taken: 5 hours

Distance: 10 km

Ascent: 800m

2 people think this report is great.
Register or Login
free to be able to rate and comment on reports (as well as access 1:25000 mapping).

So here it is... My first walk report. I'm new to this page so it's a wee bit confusing using my online diary. Before tackling this I'd like to apologize for all mistakes in the text (English being my second language makes it all even stranger :shock:).

I've been climbing for three years now, since I moved north, and I've already tasted some serious mountain walking. Sgurr Mhic Bharraich was relatively easy for me, but a special one at the same time. I knew that my husband had something up his sleeve - it turned out to be a fantastic birthday gift for any mountain maniac.

We drove down to Shiel Bridge hoping for good weather and there it was - lovely sunshine, blue sky with a few white clouds, refreshing breeze... What else could you wish for?
From Shiel Bridge campsite a well constructed (though boggy in places) path took us into Gleann Undalainn, crowned with splendid view of The Saddle and its Forcan Ridge covered in November snow...
glen shiel corbett 007.JPG
The Saddle from Gleann Undalainn