Glamaig Hill race record smashed

Glamaig, seen from Sligachan

The 25th Glamaig Hill Race took place on Saturday and saw Finlay Wild win by more than 6 minutes, smashing the long-standing record which had been held by Mark Rigby since 1997. Brian Marshall – winner of the race for the last 9 years – this time had to settle for second.

The race route – which crosses a bog before heading up and down an extremely steep and punishing scree-slope – is held each year on the Isle of Skye. The original record for the run was set more than 100 years ago when a Ghurka named Thapa, one of a group of climbers visiting Skye, ran barefoot to the top of Glamaig and back. His time was unbeaten from 1899 until the 1980s.

Enjoyed this article or find Walkhighlands useful?

Please consider setting up a direct debit donation to support the continued maintenance and updates to Walkhighlands.

Share on 

Walking can be dangerous and is done entirely at your own risk. Information is provided free of charge; it is each walker's responsibility to check it and navigate using a map and compass.